Things That Make Me Happy VII

Solitude. A simple word, but so profound. I admit, I enjoyed my years in a relationship and marriage. (Not all of them obviously, or I wouldn’t be divorced. Ahahahaha…come on, why so serious?!) Now that life has provided me an opportunity to re-invent myself and assess what I want at this point in my journey, I fully embrace every chance I get to be alone.  I adore when my Littles are with Daddy. It gives me a chance to pause, reflect, and check in with myself. Yes, that is something a person could do at the end of the day. But get real: don’t most of us just want to STOP once the day is through? I know I do. And on other occasions, I fall asleep with my two, and before I know it the sun has risen, and it is time to do it all over again.

The more seasoned I become, the more I appreciate the need to be alone with me. I could run about during those times the Littles are with daddy (and sometimes I do), I could go out with friends and “enjoy myself” (which to me sounds like a nightmare, but I’m not you, and you are not me!), or I could do what soothes my soul. And though I might not be someone else’s idea of perfect, I AM my idea of perfect. So much so, that I am okay staying at home, taking a nap, cooking a meal and eating it alone – actually eating, not just swallowing between breaths and attending to my babies’ needs – taking a hot shower, and digging into a new book.  For me, this journey has taught me to give thanks for my busy moments, but also to appreciate and make time for solitude.

If I do not make myself a priority, who else will?

Solitude dear readers, don’t knock it until you try it (and then try it again, and again, and again… you get the picture!).

Namaste. x

